Buhari Dissolves, Reconstitutes Governing Councils Of UI, UNILAG, Three Others

A file photo of the main gate of the University of Ibadan in Oyo State.


President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the dissolution of the Governing Councils of the University of Ibadan (UI) in Oyo State, and four other Federal universities in the country.

They are University of Lagos (UNILAG), Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile-Ife in Osun State, University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT) in Rivers State, and Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko in Delta State.

The President also approved the reconstitution of the governing councils of the affected universities, the Permanent Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Education, Sonny Echono, announced in a statement on Thursday in Abuja.

According to the statement, the governing council of the University of Ibadan now has a former National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Odigie Oyegun, as chairman, while Dr Masud Kazaure, Abba Yaro, Abubakar Maikafi, and Emeka Nwagbo…


You might also like
Leave a comment